Camden Fort Meagher is an old Military Fortification steeped in History, dating back to the 14th Century built as part of a three fort defence system to protect the inner harbour.
Originally built and occupied by British troops, it was handed over to the Irish army in 1938 as one of the Treaty Ports. It has also been used as a training facility by a variety of different defence groups including SluaMuiri, FCA, and Civil Defence until it was officially closed in 1989.
Cork County Council purchased the Fort in the early 1990’s with a view to redeveloping it as an internationally recognised tourism attraction. In 2010 Cork County Council agreed a management arrangement of the Fort with the Crosshaven Community Association.
The Fort is open to the public on weekends for the summer months from June until mid-September, and is an ideal location for a family day out. This unique location is popular for all events from Weddings, corporate events, guided tours or a day out with a difference. The onsite Café facilities, boasts one of the finest decking areas with panoramic views of Cork harbour including Cobh, Spike Island and Roches Point, overlooking the main shipping channel the perfect place to get a close up view of all of the luxury liners that pass through.
Camden hosts many exhibitions to tell the story of its past , from history based rooms and artefact displays, to photo exhibitions of the forts journey from being a derelict site to the semi restored attraction it is today.
For more information visit www.camdenfortmeagher.ie